LOOK INSIDE

March 4, 2014 § Leave a comment

LOOK INSIDE

I always find myself thinking about motivation. It seems like we’re constantly
being told that our economy sucks, that there’s no such thing as job security,
and that things may even get worse up ahead. It’s hard to find the motivation
to do anything when you’re told it’s hopeless. But it’s not hopeless. When I
look around, I see and hear so many stories of achievement, creativity, and
success. The pessimistic outlook isn’t the only one.

Within our covers are photographs of and interviews with individuals who
celebrate what’s on the inside – the beating heart that forges through any
obstacle. From a young car designer on a mission to make every vehicle on
the road unique, to a group of snowboarders always looking to find the next
NBD rail, to a photographer who wanted to capture his Scion tC in the most
intimate way possible, and to a handful of chefs that abandoned the typical
brick and mortar shop for pop-up venues or mobile kitchens.

While each of these stories is driven by something different, there’s one
common thread – they all do what they love. As cliché as that sounds,
the way these individuals get out there each and every day to do their
thing and better their craft is truly inspiring. They do what they love, and
because they love it so much, they get to do it all the time. It’s a virtuous
circle of motivation and it’s contagious. Their personal inspiration becomes
an inspiration to others, and that, I have to say, has made me even more
motivated to find stories to share with you in every issue of Scion Magazine.

Like those featured in this issue, I’m fueled by what I like to do for fun and
what I would probably do for free. Somehow, I’ve managed to make a living
doing just that, and I’ve been fortunate to live my life being just as excited
about tomorrow, as I was the day before. That kind of motivation is not found
in titles or rewards – you can only find it within yourself.

It’s what some might call intrinsic motivation: focusing on being the person
you are and channeling all of your energy and drive into being the best
possible version of yourself. Whether I’m traveling to car shows a thousand
miles away, stressing out the night before a big shoot, or even challenging
Shingo to a friendly race around the office, I maintain that inner desire to
have fun, create something new and share it with you first and foremost. It’s
the stuff of life, and I figure it’s time it had an exclusive issue of its own.

So read on, explore, learn and discover what you are most passionate about.
I’m sure it will drive you to reach your potential, if it hasn’t already. And if it
happens to include a Scion, be sure to let me know.

LISA MARIE CHEN, Editor-in-Chief

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading LOOK INSIDE at lisamariechen.

meta

